AGXX® - the new bioactive contact catalyst
for decontamination of aqueous systems

FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions

Our FAQ gives you answers to frequently asked questions
concerning AGXX® technology.

What does AGXX® mean?

It is based on stainless steel mesh with a coating of a specially structured silver (Ag) surface. The two X stand for two more patent-pending process steps. First, in a special procedure another precious metal in microporous structure is applied, which is then refined by conditioning treatment with a vitamin derivative in a special immersion.

What does AGXX®?

The application of this new, highly efficient antimicrobal AGXX® surface which releases only minimal amounts of silver ions takes place in aqueous solutions and leads to complete sterilization. The destruction of the microorganisms mainly takes place at or near the AGXX® bioactive surface by depolarization of its biological membranes and subsequent cell lysis.

What is the meaning of bioactive contact catalyst?

Detailed studies on the mechanism of action identify AGXX® as an efficient contact catalyst. If microorganisms in aqueous solution get near (close) to the AGXX® surface, the result is not only an accelerated inactivation of microorganisms, but also an efficient killing by lysis. The accelerated permeabilisation of microbial membranes also causes the germicidal effect of silver ions in minimal quantities. Since a high concentration of silver (ions) is no longer decisive (important), this new bioactive surface has a significantly faster antimicrobial action.

Where can AGXX® be used?

In practice, there are already many successful projects for the disinfection of cooling lubricants and cooling, service and process water. Since AGXX® virtually works without any substances and is safe for humans, further applications in pharmaceutical, medical, sanitation, ultrasonic cleaning equipments, food, biomedical areas and drinking water treatment, as well as for dishwashers, Fine Screens, decontamination of water for flowers or cleaning of windshields and many more are being tested.

How is AGXX® used?

PE or stainless steel baskets with so-called Raschigkörperfüllung, flow reactors, cascade reactors, floating frames with AGXX®-covering, modular units with so-called curtain systems, plug-in units with variable inserts, filter boxes. AGXX® can be manufactured as a foil, grid or powder. The coating of diverse materials such as stainless steel, plastic, glass, ceramics, etc., is possible.

At what temperature and pH range is AGXX® used?

The system is used in aqueous solutions in the temperature ranges between 10 - 120°C (autoclave) and at a pH of 1 to 11. Other operating conditions for special applications are being tested. For special customer requirements appropriate laboratory testing can be made. AGXX® will not be harmed during a sterilization with gamma radiation.

What life is attainable?

With appropriate care, for example the regular removal of dead biomass or heavy suspended substances, several years of life are possible. An effective way of cleaning is possible through a cleaning solution that we developed which is non-polluting.

By the choice of layer thickness the durability of AGXX® can be adjusted so that the antimicrobial activity is maintained for months or several years. Due to its special characteristics, AGXX® is also resistent to most chemicals, and especially against the inactivating effect of active sulfur compounds on silver (ions).

Which exposures or pressures should be avoided for AGXX®?

Since AGXX® is a special coating of noble metal, all highly abrasive exposures, such as intense friction on or with other metal surfaces which might detach the coating from the carrier should be avoided.

Which bacteria can be killed by AGXX® and is there any resistance?

So far, no bacteria have been found which are not killed. Only the period of time needed for disinfection is of different length, depending on the level of contamination. The mechanism strictly prevents any resistances. AGXX® was able to kill multi-resistant bacteria in KSS which were no longer controllable with biocides.

Currently there are no precise findings concerning viruses. However, since it is said that even viruses can be eliminated by silver, a similar effect of AGXX® can not be excluded. It must be considered that viruses do not have a metabolism as bacteria or fungi.

What special features or advantages does AGXX® have?

  • novel microporous coating with high antimicrobial action
  • Manufacture and application of the coatings at room temperature
  • rapid antimicrobial effect upon contact with aqueous solutions
  • no dependence on and release of large amounts of silver ions
  • high efficiency in aqueous solutions with flow / exchange of the water volume
  • Development of resistance almost impossible
  • virtually maintenance-free systems
  • durability of the surface
  • no additional need of biocides
  • no degradation of additives such as corrosion protectives, emulsifiers, etc.
  • no increase in the corrosion potential of aqueous solutions
  • easy retrofitting of existing systems
  • no AOX formation
  • no additional energy input / entry as in thermal disinfection, UV, ozone or disinfection by lysis procedures
  • no storage, handling and disposal of contaminated (biocide) solutions
  • no handling of chlorine or chlorine dioxide
  • Recyclability of used AGXX® systems.

Is AGXX® toxic or an environmental hazard?

The high antimicrobial efficiency no longer depends on the concentration of silver ions. The treatment of water without almost any substances by AGXX ® results in pure water retaining its drinking water quality. For drinking water there is a (prophylactic) standard of 100 micrograms silver ions per liter which is not exceeded by AGXX® even in long-term application.

These silver ion concentration is still quite sufficient for the efficient surface effect of AGXX®. For very sensitive applications in the pharmaceutical or biomedical field sterilized water can be generated that at the end of the process will contain only minimal amounts of silver ions. Industrial process or waste water is toxic not additionally burdened (with toxins) by AGXX®.

What does AGXX® cost?

We sell system solutions which can be very different depending on the application and the basic working material. The price is therefore dependent on the respective application. Meanwhile, commercial AGXX® systems have been sold on the basis of financial and procedural benefits for various applications.

 top   print   bookmark   recommend

FAQ - AGXX
AGXX® - der neue bioaktive Kontaktkatalysator
zur Entkeimung wässriger Systeme

FAQ - Häufig gestellte Fragen

Unsere FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) gibt Ihnen Antworten
auf häufig gestellte Fragen zur AGXX®-Technologie.

Was bedeutet AGXX®?

Grundlage ist ein mit einer speziell strukturierten Silberoberfläche (Ag) beschichtetes Edelstahlnetz. Die beiden X stehen dabei für zwei weitere zum Patent angemeldete Verfahrensschritte. Zuerst wird in einem besonderen Verfahren ein weiteres Edelmetall in mikroporöser Struktur aufgebracht, welches anschließend durch Nachbehandlung mit einem Vitaminderivat in einem speziellen Tauchbad konditioniert und veredelt wird.

Was bewirkt AGXX®?

Die Anwendung dieser neuartigen, hocheffizienten, antimikrobiellen Oberfläche erfolgt in wässrigen Lösungen und führt zu einer vollständigen Entkeimung. Die Abtötung der Mikroorganismen erfolgt hauptsächlich an oder in unmittelbarer Nähe der bioaktiven AGXX®-Oberfläche durch Depolarisierung ihrer biologischen Membranen mit anschließender Zelllyse.

Was bedeutet bioaktiver Kontaktkatalysator?

Detaillierte Studien zum Wirkmechanismus identifizieren AGXX® als effizienten Kontaktkatalysator. Kommen Mikroorganismen in wässriger Lösung in die Nähe der AGXX®-Oberfläche, so ergibt sich nicht nur eine beschleunigte Inaktivierung der Mikroorganismen, sondern auch eine effiziente Abtötung durch Zelllyse.

Wo ist AGXX® einsetzbar?

In der Praxis gibt es bereits vielfältige erfolgreiche Projekte zur Entkeimung von Kühlschmierstoffen sowie Kühl-, Brauch- und Prozesswasser. Da AGXX® wirkstofffrei arbeitet und für den Menschen unbedenklich ist, sind weitere Anwendungen im Bereich Pharmazie, Medizintechnik, Sanitär, Ultraschallreinigern, Lebensmittelindustrie, Biomedizin, und Trinkwasseraufbereitung sowie für Geschirrspülmaschinen-Feinsiebe, Blumenwasserentkeimung und Autoscheibenwaschwasser-Entkeimung u.v.a.m. in der Erprobung.

Wie wird AGXX® eingesetzt?

PE- oder VA-Siebkörbe mit sogenannte Raschigkörperfüllung, Durchflussreaktoren, Kaskadenreaktoren, Schwimmrahmen mit AGXX®-Bespannung, Moduleinheiten mit sogenannten Curtain-Systemen, Einschubeinheiten mit variablen Einschüben, Filterkästen. AGXX® kann als Folie, Netz oder Pulver hergestellt werden. Dabei ist die Beschichtung von vielfältigsten Materialien wie Edelstahl, Kunststoff, Glas, Keramik usw. möglich.

In welchem Temperatur bzw. pH-Bereich ist AGXX® einsetzbar?

Das System ist in wässrigen Lösungen im Temperaturbereiche zwischen 10 - 120°C (Autoklav) und bei pH-Werten von 1 - 11 einsetzbar. Weitere Einsatzbedingungen für Spezialanwendungen sind in der Erprobung. Für spezielle Kundenwünsche können entsprechende Labortestungen vorgenommen werden. AGXX® wird auch nicht bei einer Sterilisation mit Gammastrahlung geschädigt.

Welche Standzeiten sind erreichbar?

Bei entsprechender Pflege, mit zum Beispiel der regelmäßigen Entfernung von toter Biomasse bzw. starker Schwebstoffbelastung, sind mehrere Jahre Standzeit möglich. Eine auf einfachem Wege effektive Reinigung ist durch eine von uns entwickelte umweltfreundliche Reinigungslösung möglich.

AGXX® ist auf Grund seiner besonderen Eigenschaften beständig gegen die meisten Chemikalien und vor allem auch gegen die für Silber normalerweise inaktivierende Wirkung aktiver Schwefelverbindungen.

Welche Belastungen sollten für AGXX® vermieden werden?

Da es sich bei AGXX® um eine spezielle Edelmetallbeschichtung handelt, sind alle hohen abrasiven Belastungen, wie z. B. intensive Reibung, an oder mit anderen Metalloberflächen zu vermeiden, da sonst die Beschichtung vom Träger abgelöst werden kann.

Welche Keime lassen sich mit AGXX® abtöten und gibt es Resistenzen?

Bisher sind keine Keime gefunden worden, die nicht abgetötet werden; lediglich die Zeit bis zur Abtötung ist, je nach Keimaufbau, unterschiedlich lang. Der Mechanismus verhindert grundsätzlich Resistenzen. AGXX® konnte multiresistente Keime in KSS abtöten, die mit Bioziden nicht mehr beherrschbar waren.

Gegenüber Viren liegen noch keine genauen Erkenntnisse vor. Es gibt erste Hinweise darauf, dass AGXX auch gegen Viren wirksam werden kann. Es muss jedoch berücksichtigt werden, dass bei Viren kein vergleichbarer Stoffwechsel wie bei Bakterien oder Pilzen gegeben ist.

Welche Besonderheiten bzw. Vorteile bringt AGXX®?

  • neuartige, mikroporöse Beschichtung mit hoher antimikrobieller Wirkung
  • Herstellung und Aufbringung der Beschichtungen bei Raumtemperatur
  • beschleunigte antimikrobielle Wirkung bei Kontakt mit wässrigen Lösungen
  • keine Abhängigkeit und Freisetzung von Silberionen
  • hohe Wirksamkeit bei wässrigen Lösungen mit Durchsatz/Austausch des Wasservolumens
  • Resistenzentwicklungen kaum möglich
  • fast wartungsfreie Systeme
  • lange Haltbarkeit der Oberfläche
  • keine weitere Biozidzugabe nötig
  • keine Beeinträchtigung von Zusatzstoffen wie Korrosionsschutz, Emulgatoren etc.
  • keine Erhöhung des Korrosionspotenzials der wässrigen Lösungen
  • einfaches Nachrüsten bestehender Systeme
  • keine AOX-Bildung
  • kein zusätzlicher Energieaufwand/-eintrag wie bei thermischer Entkeimung, UV-, Ozon- oder Elektrolyseentkeimungsverfahren
  • keine Lagerung, Handling und Entsorgung von biozidbelasteten Lösungen
  • Keim Umgang mit Chlor oder Chlordioxid
  • Recyclingfähigkeit verbrauchter AGXX®-Systeme.

Ist AGXX® toxisch oder umweltgefährdend?

Die hohe antimikrobielle Wirkung hängt nicht von Silberionenabgabe ab. Die wirkstofffreie Behandlung von Wasser durch AGXX® führt dazu, dass reines Wasser seine Trinkwasserqualität behält.

Für besonders sensitive Anwendungen im pharmazeutischen oder biomedizinischen Bereich kann so keimfreies Wasser erzeugt werden. Industrielles Prozess- oder Abwasser wird durch AGXX® toxisch nicht zusätzlich belastet.

Was kostet AGXX®?

Wir verkaufen Systemlösungen, die je nach Anwendungsfall und Grundwerkstoff sehr unterschiedlich ausfallen können; der Preis richtet sich daher auch nach dem jeweiligen Anwendungsfall. Mittlerweile wurden kommerzielle AGXX®-Systeme auf Grund der finanziellen und verfahrenstechnischen Vorteile für die verschiedensten Anwendungen verkauft.

 top   print   bookmark   weiterempfehlen